A Photo Challenge for Myself

August 16, 2008 at 3:47 am Leave a comment

I was making my usual nightly rounds to my favorite websites and read this photography article at Scrapjazz. The article points out that most photos are taken at eye level – you know, standing with the camera in front of your face? – so any other angle or point of view is going to be exciting and fresh to the photos viewer.

This article started me thinking about my own photos. They’ve been a little boring lately. When I shoot the cats*, I do try to really get down on their level. I’ll even go so far as to lay down on my belly just as this article suggested to get a good shot of them. Come to think of it, I do this with my nieces and nephew too – try to shoot from their point of view. Maybe I feel like my photos are stale because although I’ve realized that photos of my cats and small children are more interesting if shoot them “eye-to-eye” I simply have a difficult time coming up with interesting angles and points of view for my other pictures.

I’m going to take the article’s advise:

“The next time that you are out with your camera and you find yourself shooting at eye level, take a moment to ask yourself if there is a better point of view. Would the image benefit from a lower angle perspective? Perhaps it will, perhaps it won’t. But by opening your mind to the possibility, you just may surprise yourself at what you can create.”

I’ll let you know how it goes.

* I’m not literally shooting my cats. I should probably edit that to read “photographing my cats.”

Entry filed under: photography. Tags: .

A Cool Find PhotoFunia

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Where My Tweets At?

RSS Loom Knitting with GretchKal

Be the first to know when there are new posts! Enter your email below to receive notification when I update.

wordpress counter

Goodreads


