Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

March 30, 2009 at 3:36 pm 2 comments

Lately it seems I’ve been on a “green” kick and I’ve been thinking more and more creatively about how to repurpose containers and bags. I posted not too long ago the idea I saw about using glass jars as photo frames. I’ve really run with this idea. My desk top at work it covered with jar-photos! I imagine my co-workers think I’ve lost my mind!

Are you wondering what other things I’m doing? Probably not but I feel like sharing:

  • I’m re-using the containers that the Crystal Light come in. Once the label is removed this tubular container with lid is perfect for on-the-go scrapbooking embellishments.
  • In the past, hubs and I have only sporadically saved plastic shopping bags but we’ve really been ramping that up now. We have a hanging fabric bag that holds shopping bags – I’m sure you’ve seen these things – and before if this got full then I would just throw the extra shopping bags away but now I’m finding so many uses for these that we’re barely keeping them in stock. We use them when we scoop the litter box (not my favorite job but it must be done), we’re using them as small trash can liners, I’m seeing a lot of people bring their lunch to work in them too. I may start doing this too. Plus, of course I have a craft project I’m working on! I’m saving most of the bags to cut into strips to knit into a market bag. Yes, a bag made of plastic bags. I do see the irony.

I do have other thing I’m doing like reusing hard-sided containers with lids for scrapbooking embellishments or knitting supplies; trying to rely less on paper towels to clean up messes  when a reusable towel will do the job (i.e. when I spilled water this morning trying to make coffee); not buying paper plates, plastic cups, and plastic spoons/forks when I have the real thing that can be washed and reused and not have to go in a landfill equivalents.

What kinds of things are you doing to reduce, reuse, and recycle?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I <3 Joann’s – maybe a little too much! Egads!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. » Reduce, Reuse, Recycle « GretchKal’s Scrapbook  |  March 31, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    […] Here is the original post: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle « GretchKal’s Scrapbook […]

  • 2. Brianna  |  April 18, 2009 at 3:02 am

    I looked into reusable cloth diapers one day when i was feeling particularly “GREEN” … then saw how much work… not to mention how expensive it was to get started and opted out as Brogan is already 15 months (where has the time gone) and I don’t think it would be cost effective to start now, but maybe for the next one… eventually… AND I wasn’t really into the whole diaper dipping thing in the toilet… hahahaha

    I DID however like the jar-photo idea, and when you figure out how to make those shopping bag-shopping bags, will you teach me!?!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Where My Tweets At?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS Loom Knitting with GretchKal

Be the first to know when there are new posts! Enter your email below to receive notification when I update.

wordpress counter

Goodreads


