I’m So Happy!

September 13, 2009 at 4:40 pm 1 comment

A few weeks ago, hubs and I stopped at the Geek Squad counter at Best Buy and asked a computer nerd what I needed to do to get my laptop up and running. He proceeded to tell me that I would need to order a disk from Gateway to restore all of my programs but my files, photos, etc. would all be lost. I was bummed out but at this point I’m was way past tears.

Fast forward to yesterday. While I logged onto the internet using hubs computer to order a recovery disk I have my computer booting up. I glanced over at my computer and notice that it has Internet Explorer installed. I click on Start and realized that there are other programs (not many) installed too. Long story short, after fiddling around for a couple of hours last night and again this morning, I have fixed my computer. I had to download drivers for a couple of things and I have to install 1 or 2 programs but otherwise everything is back to normal. I realize now that when my system crashed and I saw that my files were all gone I was in such a state of shock that I didn’t really notice that not everything was wiped off my computer.

The best news? When I re-installed Picasa it FOUND all of photos I thought I’d lost. I literally cried. They were in an archive folder … along with all of my documents. All 2,754 of my precious photos are restored.

This is one of the best days ever! 🙂

Entry filed under: Computer, photography.

Settled In … Kind Of Whatcha doin’?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Computers & Tech  |  September 18, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Hi there,
    Good site, I just came across it and I’m already a fan.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Where My Tweets At?

RSS Loom Knitting with GretchKal

Be the first to know when there are new posts! Enter your email below to receive notification when I update.

wordpress counter

Goodreads


