Just My Opinion… and a Rant on Politics

January 14, 2010 at 12:35 pm Leave a comment

I’m not sure if I see where President Obama’s going with his agenda for the country. Gas prices are still at nearly $3.00 a gallon where I live,  prices for groceries, housing and utilities continue to rise, and MILLIONS of Americans are out of work.  I think if the President were more focused on the economy and ways to make it grow and be healthy again then some of the problems I’ve mentioned will work themselves out. But no, what is President Obama focused on? Health care. Health care?

No, seriously. Health care.

Ok, yes, the state of our health care system does need an overhaul. I don’t agree with how the system is going about making the changes but I agree that things need a change. What really bothers me about this huge push to “fix” health care is that I DON’T GIVE A FLYING FUCK about whether or not the government fixes it. This is not a priority. And the bill that is most likely going to pass is not going to have any meaningful impact. Just more bureaucracy. Nope, in my opinion this is not a good fix and it’s not what the country (i.e. the president) need to be looking at. What I would really rather the government focus on is how to stimulate the economy. That’s what I’m most worried about and I want to know how does this stupid health care bill stimulate the economy?

Maybe a few more health care jobs will be created. 1) This doesn’t get people to spend money and grow the economy. 2) It’s not the president’s job to create jobs but rather the job of industry and business. 3) I can’t imagine my father, a machinist who has worked for the same company for nearly 30 years and is about to lose his job because the company is relocating their operations to India, I can’t imagine him retraining for a profession in the health care industry even if there were free government paid training.

I don’t have any answers here. I’m just angry that so many people where fed up with George Bush that they elected into office a man that I so fundamentally disagree with. And what surprises me most is that when I was younger, say fresh out of high school up until I met and married hubs, when asked if I were a Democrat or a Republican I would proudly say I was a Democrat. I look back now and realize I wasn’t really anything. I was just whatever my parents said they were and I didn’t really have any firmly held beliefs of my own. If you were to ask me the same question today – Democrat or Republican – I would have a harder time answering.  I don’t know that I’m strictly one or the other. Is there a third option? Independent? Libertarian?

Sorry for the rant folks and I know that I’m not very eloquent sometimes when I get myself worked up so if this was “babbling” sorry for that too …

Entry filed under: Political Rant, Pop Culture.

Let The Good Times Roll Go Colts!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Where My Tweets At?

RSS Loom Knitting with GretchKal

Be the first to know when there are new posts! Enter your email below to receive notification when I update.

wordpress counter

Goodreads


