Photographic Proof That Children Love My Husband

February 10, 2010 at 10:51 pm 2 comments

Hubs and I returned on Monday night from a long weekend in Indiana visiting with my family. This was our first visit back to see my family since we moved to Tennessee in August so it was long overdue. We had a chance to catch up with everyone and as a bonus we got to watch the Superbowl together. (My poor Colts. What happened?)

We haven’t lived near my niece and nephew while they’ve been growing up and so it’s always amazing seeing how much they’ve developed in the months between our visits. The last time we saw them our niece, Katie, was about to enter pre-school and our nephew, Garret, was slow to warm up to people and a little shy. On this visit Katie couldn’t wait to tell me about her teacher and her new friends and the fun things she’s learning in school. Garret has completely come out of his shell these past few months and he’s talking non-stop. Oh, and both kids LOVE their uncle. My brother said when the kids got home the first night we were there they were so jazzed up over their uncle that they wanted to stay up late and build Lego towers for him and make drawings for him. He was all they could talk about apparently.

Hmph … what about me?

Katie & Garret wearing hub's Colts hats

I was a little jealous that hubs was getting all the attention but I suspect that most of hubs popularity was due to the fact that he had morphed into a human jungle gym and was swinging toddlers above his head and across the sofa all afternoon. Still, I guess he is pretty awesome so I don’t blame them from loving him so much. I know I sure do!

I also stopped being jealous when I remembered that I had plenty of time playing with the kids too. I logged more than a couple of hours working on Thomas the Tank Engine coloring books and building Lego castles.

Sweet! Snacks and coloring!

No Legos were harmed in the making of this castle ...

We had such a great time visiting with my whole family. It’s a shame we can’t live closer and visit more often but I’m sure everyone understands. My parents are tentatively planning a visit to see us this Spring and hopefully my brother and his family can come too. I’m looking forward to it!

Entry filed under: Family.

Go Colts! Meh. Let the (Olympic) Games Begin

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  February 13, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Hi! Great pics.We had a good time , too. I wanted you to check out this website, Sellabration auction in greencastle. They are having a vintage Fiesta auction and have some great pics, you won’t believe what this lady collected, over 500 pieces Love ya, Happy Valentine’s Day!

  • 2. Gretchen Kalhust  |  February 13, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Wow! I just looked at their website and saw the auction you’re talking about. Crazy. I love my Fiesta but couldn’t imagine having over 500 pieces. You would practically have to have another room to store it all!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Where My Tweets At?

RSS Loom Knitting with GretchKal

Be the first to know when there are new posts! Enter your email below to receive notification when I update.

wordpress counter

Goodreads


