The New Miss Delaware is Very Inspirational

June 29, 2010 at 7:52 am 1 comment

Kayla Martell, the newly crowned Miss Delaware, who is headed to the Miss America pageant has Alopecia Areata  (AA) and is working towards raising awareness of her condition.

My hubs has had AA since he was in high school and has been shaving his head for the last 10 years. In the years before he and I met I guess his hair had fallen out and grown back a couple of times and he was always self-conscious about his hair loss. The last time his hair fell out it just never grew back so he decided to shave away any remaining hair. I tell him often that I think he is beautiful – in fact I think he is more handsome WITHOUT hair!

Ms. Martell is such a beautiful girl, both when she is competing with or without a wig and her story is very inspirational. I saw her this morning on Fox and Friends and she was great. I can’t find a clip of that interview but she’s been on the interview circuit and I found a clip of her on the CBS Early Show. Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Featured.

Howdy, Folks! It’s Been a Long Time

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Crystal Cranmore  |  August 27, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    This episode of the early show prompted me to interview this young lady. she is so inspirational. Please check out the video i did of her!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Where My Tweets At?

RSS Loom Knitting with GretchKal

Be the first to know when there are new posts! Enter your email below to receive notification when I update.

wordpress counter

Goodreads


